GOODBYE

Posted: June 9, 2012 in Just Stuff, Poetry
Tags: , , ,

Take your hand off the door knob,
Don’t leave yet, dispatch the cab.
Sit on the couch here beside me,
Or if you like we’ll sit under the tree
Out in the garden that took us years to plant.
Whatever it is you can’t leave now. You can’t.
Tell me why you want to say goodbye,
Answer me, look me in the eye!
Whatever is making you change your mind
At least be kind…
Enough!
Speak no more
For you do not understand this war
That rages in my heart
And makes me regret my sojourn on earth.
You speak as though a stranger
You forget where we are.
Were you not there when the storm began raging?
When our young love suddenly started aging?
You were there those nights I used to cry
When I realised our young love was about to die.
Now my tears have ceased totally,
My mind is made up finally.
I leave for no destination
Though I know God understands my frustration.
I leave you here tonight
But i know someday you’ll see the light.
Goodbye.
Be strong, please try.
Now my tears have ceased totally,
My mind is made up finally.
I leave for no destination
Though I know God understands my frustration.
I leave you here tonight
But i know someday you’ll see the light.
Goodbye.
Be strong, please try.

Leave a Reply

